Just like a teenage girl collect Justin Timberlake artifacts – I have a great place in my heart (as well as in my wallet) for items connected to Gerard Manley Hopkins.


The great idol

I guess G.M Hopkins isn’t as sexy as Britney Spear or 50 cents. But I promise you, I’m just as excited over my 100 years old pictures of a shipwreck than any teenager could be over some record collection.

In the thirties GMH’s personal papers and journals first where published.  In the fifties there was a second edition of his papers published, but in over fifty years no new material by Hopkins hand has been published. Until last year. Today I found out that Oxford press has started to publish the complete works by Hopkins, forty-five essays which Hopkins produced during his undergraduate career at Oxford that haven’t been published before is reproduced in this volume… I’m so happy. If I have understood the publisher correctly there will eventually be eight volumes in this series.

Heaven on earth: The Collected Works of Gerard Manley Hopkins (Volume IV: Oxford Essays and Notes 1863-1868)

The Collected Works of Gerard Manley Hopkins (Volume IV: Oxford Essays and Notes 1863-1868)

 

But why do they start with volume four? I just can’t grip if i missed three volumes or if they started with it… And when will the next part in the series come out? What are the fans supposed to think? We couldn’t be more confused even if Robbie Williams had been involved. And most importantly:

– Will there be a poster?????

