Sisters of Charity
The mission of Mother Theresa’s Missionaries of Charity is to
care for “the hungry, the naked, the homeless, the crippled, the
blind, the lepers, all those people who feel unwanted, unloved,
uncared for throughout society, people that have become a
burden to the society and are shunned by everyone”. They are
running orphanages, AIDS hospices, caring for alcoholics, the
disabled, the poor through out the world.

 

 

When is that point of creation for that mysterious force that we call life? I think “some weeks after conception” isn’t the right answer. I believe a human fetus is human and I do object to ending human life. I object when someone say that those children were not meant to be. According to whom? Even if you look at it in a deterministic way why would we then have to interfere if they where not meant to be? And if we where meant to take this action aren’t we accountable for it?

Sorry I stole your car. Shot your cat, littered your lawn. Well, you know… It was meant to be…

In Marie’s two recent posts on abortion she brings up this important topic from two different angles. In Bishop Refuses Rudy Giuliani Invite she considers the political aspects on the debate between pro-choice and pro-life. In the post Helping To Stop Abortion she introduces the Sisters of Life for all of us who hadn’t heard of them previously.

To me personally this is the two perspectives that I find most interesting and important. First: Are the parents free to choose what they believe is right? (as Rudy Giuliani believes) Second: How do we take care of the children that are born?

In many ways the abortion movement is acting out of misguided consideration. They believe abortion to be the answer to broken homes, sexual abuse; unwanted children so forth and sadly so on. In my opinion the best way to fight abortion is to prepare place for all the unwanted children, and to help poor family’s all over the world.

This is why I get so happy when reading about the sisters of life, but I do believe we all must address this problem. Running around and being judgmental is the all wrong approach. We should educate. We should propagate with love and act as examples in taking care of family’s with problems. I think legislation, without a change of perception, risk to just abandon young mothers, just as they are abandoned now in society’s that recommends abortion.

I have hard to see how anything good can come out of an abortion. The double negation might work in mathematics but when it comes to abortion I think it most often doesn’t solve a problem but adds another hardship for the mother to deal with. When a mother has performed an abortion I think it is very hard to acknowledge for her what actually have been done. Logic and fancy arguments are not the proper weapon to fight guilt with. We all do what we can to survive. Still according to my experience every abortion is filled with sorrow and remorse for the parents to be. Sooner or later.

Either they can accept their guilt, and that is a too hard of a burden for the most of us. You need God for that. Or they can keep telling themselves that they did the right thing, the only thing, the best thing even for the child. By going on like many pro-life people does, they are most probably just driving those parent further away, risking them to do it again or in the case of legislation abandon young women with only guilt and home remedies to get by.

Call me an idealist if you want, but acknowledge that I’m being pragmatic. Call me a pragmatic if you want, but acknowledge that I’m being idealistic: The best way to care for the unborn is to care for those who already are born. That is why I believe orders like The Sisters of Life and The Missionaries of Charity is so important. Their work goes hand in hand.

They are our front soldiers against the slaughter of the innocent.

Sisters of Life

