Waiting for a swim

I’m much like the little girl in this photo: I have taken all precautions and now I’m just waiting for the dip – My swim across the Tiber is getting closer and closer.

I met Father I.F. yesterday. He is such a wonderful man. It was the second last RCIA meeting and I have grown much attached to these meetings, but I feel ready to move on. I still have so much to learn but it is time for another form, a new phase.

After the class I stayed for a while and we discussed the practical things, like paperwork; as usual I have a hard time getting the paperwork done. I don’t know why I always have to do everything in the last minute… Well he said it shouldn’t be an obstacle anyway. I got most of the papers I need and still got a good chance at getting it all in time.

The service will be held at 5 p.m. June the twelfth – so I’m almost there now. I can almost touch it.

We set up a date for the general confession. I’m very happy for it but it makes me think a lot of my previous sins though, and that is kind of depressing. Its forty two years of a quite sinful life. There are some heavy regrets there which I haven’t thought of for a long time. Why have I lived the life as I have? Why did I have to do all those bad choices? How much have I hurt people around me? How much have I hurt God?

And how lucky I am to have found this path to tread, I don’t give thanks enough. What wonderful people I meet. It is such a strange feeling: I’m both very happy and kind of sad at the same time.

It’s a closure.

